Pink Floyd Heads

13 Aug

In Egypt we are more prone to put anything on a pedestal. We think of our selves as the center of existence, thus the rules do not apply, and that in part explains why someone could spend all day barking after broads but outburst in fury when the shoe gets on the other foot. We like things to be epic, and we are ready to stake our credibility on jive. Naturally, Pink Floyd is the perfect fit for all that, and then some more.

Pink Floyd resonated with us like no other band. They struck a chord and morphed into this representation of Egyptian despair, embraced for all the wrong reasons. They also inspired the worst kind of wry arrogance amongst my peers, and that’s when things started to crumble. See I never heard Pink Floyd before I meet their fans, and they are the worst group of douche bags out there.

I couldn’t care less about the band. my beef is with the fans. I’ll admit to liking the some of their songs; My 17 year old self woke up one day to “Shine On You Crazy Diamond” playing on the radio and thought it was fucking badass. I also had a similar experience with ABBA’s “One Of Us,” so that might things in perspective. I think “Dark Side of the Rainbow” and “Another Brick in the WALL-E” are like the coolest thing ever and that Arabic version of comfortably numb is wicked awesome. But enough yakking, this is about Pink Floyd heads.

Some of common traits of the PF head business:

  1. With Pink Floyd above all of course, they tend to favor some other bands like Led Zeppelin, Scorpions, Metallica, Guns & Roses, Airosmith, Gary Moore, The Doors and basically any band that would play in a typical mid-nineties Episode of “The Midnight Cartoon show.”
  2. Having long-winded tales about shitty PF trivialities as their go-to topics every time they open their mouth.
  3. Not listening to any music made after 1990
  4. Having a condescending tone and inducing a I-wanna-kick-the-shit-out-you like compulsion.
  5. Doing Drugs (there are some exceptions thoguh).

See, I grew up with these mother fuckers putting me down, telling me I know nothing and I am musically crippled. They would look at me all gooey eyed in pity; How sad it is that I am gonna live my whole life without experiencing this flux of bliss, and at first I bought into their bullcrap. But much like finding out that your dad wasn’t the precocious boy wonder he claimed to be, I saw through their lies, and Just to prove a point, from now on,  when people ask me about this blog I am going describe it as the Pink Floyd of Egyptian blogs.

8 Responses to “Pink Floyd Heads”

  1. Sherif Kadry August 15, 2009 at 2:11 am #

    Wow, man, you brought me back to the early nineties in cairo when I started to listen to PF and had to deal with the douche bag fans. They were all spun from the same thread. There were many exceptions though yet I did encounter the people you describe.

    • Haisam August 15, 2009 at 4:05 am #

      Dude, Lots of people who listen to the band are down right normal if not rad, It’s the ones that define themselves by their Pink love that I am talking about. Guys who popularized the term “pinkaat” and stay in a musical state of arrested development for all their lives, and for them I say FUCK YOU, and you know what else, It’s not entirely a generational thing, there are Gen Y’ers and even Z’ers out their who submitted to PF, like sure it’s an awesome band and all, but come on, I didn’t wanna name-drop in the entry but bands like The Beatles, Velvet Underground and The Kinks, all come preapproved by music snobs yet people here won’t touch them with a stick.

      Any way man thank you so much for the love, It’s really awesome when people leaves comments like that. Have a good one.

  2. Nahla August 16, 2009 at 10:09 am #

    the same phenomenon can apply to certain songs that have created these musical anthem monsters in our midst. like “zombie” by the cranberries, “hotel california” by the eagles, “boombastic” by shaggy, “in da club” by 50 cent, anything bon jovi… and the list is endless….

    i know people who would rock out to zombie without a clue about the lyrics or what the song is about. it was just “dark” and “different”. in essence, it was a catchy tune, with an easy enough to pronounce (& remember) word placed over 3 notes! ask them about any of the other cranberries music and they’re clueless, ask them about the history of the cranberries, and they draw a blank… so much for die hard rockers!

    u know what though ya haisam, the core of all of our pop-cultural problems lies in the fact that we do not know who we are and thus proceed to try on all these different personas on for size. none of them fit, which buries us deeper and deeper into the chasm of the identity crisis, taking us farther and farther away from discovering who we really are and being real with ourselves. so we blindly adopt these characteristics per se and the unnatural fit is so palpable to the outsider, that when u see a guy in a beat up hyundai elantra rocking out to zombie at 3 am across from nadi el shams, u just wanna scratch ur eyeballs out!

    the cringe factor is an inevitable, inescapable truth of our confused culture!

    • Haisam August 17, 2009 at 2:47 am #

      God, Zombie, I hated that song. and I called bull shit on Bon Jovi way back in the day. Dave Matthews also suck. they all give a false sense of musical maturity “I like songs with guitar in them.”

      Now regarding the identity crisis thing, I am not sure, and thats why this blog takes a bottom-look approach, after a rich Egyptian history of trying to figure out the big picture and getting it all wrong, the best course of action is to over dwell the minutia, I think

  3. forsoothsayer August 26, 2009 at 6:30 pm #

    i think of those guys as “classic egyptian rock-heads”.

  4. Ziad September 1, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    You forgot to list Dire Straits among other bands the Floyd-heads love

    I’m new to your blog and I’m not even Egyptian and I don’t live there… but I’ve been terminally annoyed by the Egyptian Pink Floyd fans my whole life!!!

    I like a few of their songs but I never understood this uniquely Egyptian obsession… thanks for shedding some light on it

  5. Haisam September 8, 2009 at 10:20 pm #

    @Ziad, good call on the Dire Straits. and forsoothsayer, classic egyptian rock-heads is a valid moniker for the PFH too.

  6. Piedad Sansburn February 7, 2011 at 1:20 am #

    Your site is sweet! Generally as i visit blogs, I just come across shit, but these times I became really surprised whenever i got your site containing great information. Thanks mate and save this effort up.

Leave a Reply

